

Council

Friday 17 May 2024 2.00 p.m.



WELCOME TO TODAY'S MEETING

GUIDANCE FOR THE PUBLIC

The Council is composed of 59 Councillors, who are democratically accountable to the residents of their ward.

The Council Meeting is chaired by the Mayor, who will ensure that its business can be carried out efficiently and with regard to respecting the rights and responsibilities of Councillors and the interests of the community. The Mayor is the Borough's first citizen and is treated with respect by the whole Council, as should visitors and member of the public.

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints its Leader, Mayor and Deputy Mayor and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its committees.

Copies of the agenda and reports are available on the Council's website at <u>www.rotherham.gov.uk</u>. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain private information and these will be marked accordingly on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings. A member of the public may ask one general question in person which must be received in writing to the Chief Executive by 10.00 a.m. on the Friday preceding a Council meeting on the following Wednesday and must not exceed sixty words in length. Questions can be emailed to <u>governance@rotherham.gov.uk</u>

Council meetings are recorded and streamed live or subsequently uploaded to the Council's website. At the start of the meeting the Mayor will confirm if the meeting is being filmed. You would need to confirm your wish not to be filmed to Democratic Services. Recording of the meeting by members of the public is also allowed.

Council meetings are open to the public, but occasionally the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this occurs you will be asked to leave.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets, one of which is designated disabled with full wheelchair access, with full lift access to all floors. Induction loop facilities are also available in the Council Chamber, John Smith Room and Committee Rooms 1 and 2.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained via the ramp at the main entrance to the Town Hall.

If you have any queries on this agenda, please contact:-

Contact:-

Emma Hill, Head of Democratic Services governance@rotherham.gov.uk

Date of Publication:-

9 May 2024

COUNCIL

Friday 17 May 2024 at 2.00 p.m.

THE MAYOR (Councillor Robert Taylor) DEPUTY MAYOR (Councillor Sheila Cowen)

CHIEF EXECUTIVE (Sharon Kemp)

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

ANSTON AND WOODSETTS

BAUM-DIXON, Timothy J. BLACKHAM, John M. TARMEY, Drew S.

ASTON AND TODWICK

ALLEN, Sarah A. BACON, Joshua

AUGHTON AND SWALLOWNEST

PITCHLEY, Lyndsay TAYLOR, Robert P.

BOSTON CASTLE

ALAM, Saghir HUSSAIN, Ashiq YASSEEN, Taiba K.

BRAMLEY AND RAVENFIELD

DUNCAN, Elizabeth J. REYNOLDS, Gregory

BRINSWORTH

CARTER, Adam J. CARTER, Charlotte R.

DALTON AND THRYBERGH

BENNETT-SYLVESTER, Michael D.P. RYALLS, Jodie

DINNINGTON

CLARKE, Amanda M. CASTLEDINE-DACK, Sophie HALL, Julia

GREASBROUGH

BERESFORD, Linda J. ELLIOTT, Robert W.

HELLABY AND MALTBY WEST

BALL, Simon A. STABLES, Lynda Jayne

HOOBER

BRENT, Rajmund E. LELLIOTT, Denise WILLIAMS, John

<u>KEPPEL</u>

CURRIE, Simon FOSTER, Carole GARNETT, Gillian S.

KILNHURST AND SWINTON (EAST)

CUSWORTH, Victoria HARPER, Nigel

MALTBY EAST

SUTTON, Donna E. TINSLEY, Adam J.

RAWMARSH EAST

HUGHES, Rachel E.M. SHEPPARD, David

RAWMARSH WEST

BAKER-ROGERS, Joanna STEELE, Brian

ROTHER VALE

ADAIR, Terry BAGGALEY, Jamie

ROTHERHAM EAST

AHMED, Angham S.T. HALEEM, Rukhsana B. RASHID, Haroon

ROTHERHAM WEST

JONES, Ian P. KEENAN, Eve MCKIERNAN, Cameron D.P.

<u>SITWELL</u>

BOWER, Michael A. FISHER, David F. THORP, Paul S.

SWINTON ROCKINGHAM

MONK, Gina READ, Christopher

THURCROFT & WICKERSLEY

COLLINGHAM, Zachary A. COLLINGHAM, Thomas R.

WALES

BECK, Dominic E. HAVARD, Marnie A.

<u>WATH</u>

COWEN, Sheila A. JACKSON, David R.

WICKERSLEY NORTH

KNIGHT, Stuart MARSHALL, Lynda MAULT, James J.

Council Meeting Agenda

Time and Date:-Friday 17 May 2024 at 2.00 p.m.

Venue:-Town Hall, The Crofts, Moorgate Street, Rotherham. S60 2TH

1. Election of Chair

To elect a Mayor and Chair of the Council for the 2024-25 municipal year.

Two nominations for the position of Mayor had been received:

- 1. "That Councillor Cowen be elected Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that she be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972."
- 2. "That Councillor Tom Collingham be elected Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that he be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972."

2. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor (Councillor Robert Taylor)

A motion for a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor has been received:

That the Council tender its sincere thanks to Councillor Robert Taylor for the excellent manner in which he has carried out all his duties as Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham. And that the best thanks of this Council be recorded for the kind and admirable way in which Mrs Tracy Taylor performed the duties of Mayoress.

3. Presentation of the Past Mayor's Pendants

The new Mayor to formally present the retiring Mayor and Mayoress with their past Mayor's pendants.

4. Appointment of Vice-Chair

To elect a Deputy-Mayor and Vice-Chair of the Council for the 2024-25 municipal year.

Two nominations for the position of Deputy-Mayor had been received:

- 1. That Councillor Haleem be elected Vice-Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that she be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.
- 2. That Councillor Tinsley be elected Vice-Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that he be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

5. Apologies for Absence

To receive the apologies of any Member who is unable to attend the meeting.

6. Declarations of Interest

To invite Councillors to declare any disclosable pecuniary interests or personal interests they may have in any matter which is to be considered at this meeting, to confirm the nature of those interests and whether they intend to leave the meeting for the consideration of the item.

7. Appointment of Mayor's Cadets

To note the appointment of the Mayor's Cadets for the 2024-25 municipal year.

8. Urgent Items

Any other public items which the Mayor determines are urgent.

hoa Komp.

SHARON KEMP, Chief Executive.

The next meeting of the Council will be on 22 May 2024 at 2.00 p.m.